Seizan, Perth cbd

14 Jul
It seems I always write these reviews while I am very nearly at the brink of starvation.  On Friday Mr. X and a friend of ours went into the cbd for a few drinks, after trying to get into a couple of restaurants for dinner including Greenhouse, we ended up at Seizan Japanese Restaurant. To be honest this was not my first choice, I have been here for lunch before and was not very impressed.  However, with tummies growling, we decided that we were not going to bother trying to get in somewhere else.
 
 
 
Seizan is located in the basement on Hay Street and the décor is bright and welcoming and we were seated immediately and our drinks order was taken. I had a Glass of Shiraz and Mr. X had a beer. The menu was quite lengthy, however I was craving a Japanese Curry and they had none.  I was disappointed.  Anyway, we decided we were too hungry to order Entrees so we decided on Mains.
I had the Vegetarian Bento Box and Mr. X had the Tempura Vegetables.  It was quite a wait for the food and I was starting to get annoyed, I have to admit though that this could have been a result of being famished.
 
My Bento box was huge, I had 2 pieces of Avocado Sushi, Tempura vegetables, Fried Eggplant, fried Tofu, pickles, miso soup, and steamed rice oh and salad with 2 dressing/ sauces.  Everything was fresh and beautiful, the sushi and the eggplant was particularly nice.  The Tempura vegetables, was a bit disappointing, I found it a bit heavy, and it consisted mainly of potato.  I did not have the Miso Soup because I hate Miso, but the Tofu again was lovely. 
 
 
Mr. X demolished his Tempura vegetables.  He even ate my Tofu.  However he did say that he was not very impressed with his dish.  He also found it a bit heavy, I guess that would be the deep frying and you cannot help that with tempura now can you.
 
 
We did not have dessert, we were way too full.  The food was fresh and very filling, I cannot say that I was impressed and I would go back, because in all likelihood I will not.  I love Japanese and I know I can have better elsewhere.  The service was good, prompt. All in all, if I ever do go back it will be because I am starving and there is nowhere else I can go. 
 
Food: 3
Service: 3.5
Ambiance: 3

Seizan Japanese on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

